Nuit Blues

The Como Mamas

Leyla McCalla Trio

Music Maker Blues Revue

From New Orleans to North Carolina, take a dive into the burning heart of Blues. Saxophonist Raphaël Imbert, a Fourvière favourite ever since Music is my Home (2015) and his tribute to Paul Robeson (2016), will be accompanying us in this incredible musical journey.

MUSIC MAKER BLUES REVUE
Created in 1994 to defend the cause of Southern Blues and protect its musicians from poverty and oblivion, the Music Maker Relief Foundation is an inexhaustible gold mine for music enthusiasts. And their Revue is proof of just that. Here is a super-group made up of big shots that have all left a significant imprint on the genre, whether playing solo, like Alabama Slim and Robert Finley, or alongside Taj Mahal, Bo Diddley or James Brown. Each concert of this living legend is an intense moment of communion: a voluptuous celebration of the timeless splendours of blues where, as Finley — one of the Foundation’s most precious finds — sings it “Age Don’t Mean a Thing”.

THE COMO MAMAS
Hailing from the town of Como, Mississippi, Ester Mae Smith, Angela Taylor and Della Daniels were born, raised and brewed in the boiling cauldron of Gospel, work songs and Negro spirituals. In a place wrought by slavery and segregation, their a cappella songs addressed to the Almighty resound like ecstatic prayers and fight songs. More than just harmonies, their volcanic voices project steamy clouds of sound, which is probably why they were invited to join the catalogue of the famous Soul/Funk label Daptone Records.

LEYLA McCALLA TRIO
In 2010, Leyla McCalla emerged out of the blue with her cello and resonant voice in the streets of New Orleans, interpreting Bach’s Suites as well as a repertoire borrowed from Cajun, Folk and traditional Haitian music. Since then, with just two albums, she has established herself as one of the finest ambassadors of Creole Blues, standing gracefully at the crossroads of all the different styles that nourish her music.

APÉRO BLUES
On the evening of the concert, starting at 6:30 pm, there will be a free talk and aperitif with Raphael Imbert on the ancient site of Fourvière, 6 rue de l'Antiquaille.
Please reserve in advance: rp@nuitsdefourviere.fr

Nuit Blues

The Como Mamas

Leyla McCalla Trio

Music Maker Blues Revue

De La Nouvelle-Orléans à la Caroline du Nord, voici une plongée dans le cœur brûlant du blues. Ponctuée par la présence et les interventions en fil rouge du saxophoniste Raphaël Imbert, qui prolonge son compagnonnage avec Fourvière après Music is my Home (2015) et son concert hommage à Paul Robeson (2016).

Music Maker Blues Revue
Créée en 1994 pour défendre la cause du Southern Blues et soutenir ses musiciens contre la pauvreté et l’oubli, la Music Maker Relief Foundation est une inépuisable mine d’or pour les amateurs de diamants bruts. Sa Revue l’atteste, super-groupe composé de pointures qui ont creusé leur sillon en solo, comme Alabama Slim ou Robert Finley, ou aux côtés de Taj Mahal, Bo Diddley ou James Brown. Chaque concert de ce panthéon vivant est un moment de communion d’une sidérante intensité : une célébration voluptueuse des splendeurs intemporelles du blues où, comme le chante Finley, l’une des découvertes les plus soufflantes de la Fondation, “l’âge ne veut rien dire”.
>>> Ecouter un extrait

The Como Mamas
Tirant le nom de leur trio de la bourgade de Como, Mississippi, Ester Mae Smith, Angela Taylor et Della Daniels sont nées, ont grandi et mijoté dans le chaudron bouillant du gospel, des work songs et des negro spirituals. Dans une région où esclavage et ségrégation ont fait rage, leurs adresses a capella au Tout-Puissant résonnent à la fois comme des prières survoltées et des chants de lutte. Plus que des harmonies, ce sont de véritables nuées ardentes que projettent leurs voix volcaniques, qui n’ont pas été invitées par hasard à rejoindre le catalogue de l’immense label soul-funk Daptone.
>>> Ecouter un extrait

Leyla McCalla Trio
C’est en 2010 que, tel un miracle, Leyla McCalla a surgi avec son violoncelle et sa voix cuivrée dans les rues de la Nouvelle-Orléans, enchaînant Suites de Bach et un répertoire emprunté aux musiques cajun, au folk et aux traditions de ses ascendances haïtiennes. Depuis, en deux albums, elle s’est imposée comme l’une des plus complètes ambassadrices du blues créole, postée gracieusement à la confluence de tous les courants qui l’irriguent.
>>> Ecouter un extrait

APÉRO BLUES
Le soir du concert, à partir de 18h30, conférence-rencontre et apéro gratuits en compagnie de Raphaël Imbert sur le site antique de Fourvière, 6 rue de l’Antiquaille.
Entrée sur inscription : rp@nuitsdefourviere.fr