DHAFER YOUSSEF

RICHARD BONA

Bona de la Frontera

Bona de la Frontera is Richard Bona and his new project. A 51-year-old dazzling bassist, Bona is a partner for international stars, singer like his mother, griot like his grand-father, and champion of Minta, Cameroon where he was born in 1967.

At Fourvière, Bona presents his “flamenco project” with the current Masters of the genre: Antonio Rey (guitar), Maria Rey (cantaora, dance), Paco Vega (percussions and Pedro Cordoba (dance). In Andalucia, “la frontera” is the name used to qualify many pueblos and cities (Jerez de la Frontera), the founding memory of the Granada kingdom and its outlines, but frontiers are made to be crossed.

Bona de la Frontera holds a genuine find : flamenco is fatal, both for the compas (its rhythm), and for its spirit: regardless of frontiers, for the best of people. A singularly modern project: Bona de La Frontera!

Dhafer Youssef, same age as Bona, same universalism against a backdrop of personal history, same grace. Virtuosity is for them the least of things. Tunisian udist, composer, exceptional singer, Dhafer Youssef went from hometown wedding celebration to the musical scene of Vienna (Austria).  Then he settled in Paris to spread the soufi tradition and arabic lyricism. And across the borders where his genius requires it.

Ziryab, his first band, was named after an illustrious musician. Galibi ala Galback is a hymn to his mother. The sense of improvisation, as Bora’s (one of his top-choice partner), he got it from jazz. The rest, all the rest, they got it on their own.

DHAFER YOUSSEF

RICHARD BONA

Bona de la Frontera

Bona de la Frontera, c’est Richard Bona et son nouveau projet, 51 ans. Éblouissant guitariste basse. Partenaire de stars planétaires. Chanteur comme sa mère, griot comme son grand–père, chantre de Minta où il est né en 1967 (Cameroun).

À Fourvière, Bona présente son “flamenco project” avec les Maîtres actuels du genre : Antonio Rey (guitare), Maria Rey (cantaora, danse), Paco Vega (percussions) et Pedro Córdoba (danse). En Andalousie, “la frontera” qualifie nombre de pueblos et de villes (Jerez de la Frontera). Mémoire fondatrice du royaume de Grenade et de ses contours. Les frontières sont faites pour être transgressées. 

Bona de la Frontera, c’est une vraie trouvaille : le flamenco ne pardonne rien, ni le compás (les rythmes), ni l’esprit : toutes fron-tières confondues, pour le meilleur des peuples. Projet singulièrement actuel : Bona de La Frontera !

Dhafer Youssef, même âge que Bona, même universalisme sur fond d’histoire personnelle. Même grâce. La virtuosité pour eux, c’est la moindre des choses. Oudiste tunisien, compositeur, voix exceptionnelle, Dhafer Youssef va des mariages au village natal aux scènes de Vienne (Autriche). Puis s’installe à Paris, portant haut les traditions soufies et le lyrisme arabe. Et par-delà les frontières, partout où son génie l’exige.

Ziryab, son premier groupe, doit son nom à l’illustre musicien andalou. Galibi ala Galback est un hymne à sa mère. Le sens de l’improvisation, comme Bona (l’un de ses partenaires de choix), il le tient du jazz. Le reste, tout le reste, c’est d’eux qu’ils le tiennent.