MAC DEMARCO

PARQUET COURTS

ALDOUS HARDING

In 2016, Mac DeMarco and his buddies, opening for Tame Impala, had mischievously seduced Fourviere with their chill compendium of indolent and playful pop songs. In the wake of a highly expected new record, it is a real treat to host, this time as a headliner, this singular and endearing character : a gifted musician allergic to seriousness, an eternal college student singing like a loony bird perched between leaves of jokes and reveries, sweet madness and romantic fancy.

Creative impulse is not something missing either from art-rock troublemakers Parquet Courts . If the New Yorkers biting music owes much to punk rock’s seminal intensity, they’d rather drift away and explore the four corners of an exhilarating playground where panoramic pop meets angular funky sounds.

The ascension towards intense emotions will start early with Aldous Harding’s set whose expressive crest line recalls the apparitions of Kate Bush or PJ Harvey... A little bird told us that we might also find her soon at the top of the bill.

MAC DEMARCO

PARQUET COURTS

ALDOUS HARDING

En 2016, Mac DeMarco et ses potes, ouvrant pour Tame Impala, avaient embobiné Fourvière avec leurs chansons conçues comme autant de petits précis de pop indolente et ludique. Dans le sillage d’un album très attendu, c’est une joie de voir revenir en capitaine de soirée ce personnage atypique et attachant : un surdoué allergique à l’esprit de sérieux, perché tel un éternel étudiant entre farces et rêveries, folie douce et romantisme.

De la fantaisie créative, les trublions de Parquet Courts n’en manquent pas non plus. Car si le rock des New-Yorkais carbure au mordant originel du punk, c’est pour mieux se disperser façon puzzle aux quatre coins d’un terrain de jeu où se frictionnent pop panoramique et funk anguleux : jouissif !

L’ascension vers les émotions fortes commencera dès le set d’Aldous Harding, dont les lignes de crête expressives rappellent les premières apparitions de Kate Bush ou PJ Harvey… Quelque chose nous dit qu’on la retrouvera bientôt, elle aussi, tout en haut de l’affiche.